top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachael Reinert

Home Sweet Home

Hello readers, I am currently on a plane headed back to America! What an experience this last month has been, I can’t even wrap my head around how fast it flew by. I am feeling so many different emotions, it is a bittersweet feeling to head back to Texas. I am excited to return home to see my family, friends and my sweet Kindergarten class. But it was very hard to say goodbye to the teachers, students and temporary home. The past month was full of wonderful memories, educational growth as well as personal growth. It was an experience of a life time!



My teaching placement at Escorial was everything I could have wanted and more. The teachers, students and parents were so loving and welcoming. The three weeks I was in the classroom I got to see every English class from the age of 3 through 6th grade. I had the chance to work in small groups, teach whole class lessons, present presentations and play games with the students. I worked along side two amazing teachers Tania and Claudia, who are now life long friends. These two woman made a huge impact on my experience in Vic. Not only were they lovely teachers, they also became my home away from home. They both took me in with open arms teaching me their language, culture and education. I had so many fantastic times with them inside and outside of the classroom. Inside the classroom they represented the love and passion you should have as a teacher. As well as reminding the importance of exploring and having fun with the curriculum. Outside the classroom Tania and Claudia always wanted to adventure and decided that it was a must to show me around Catalonia. They took me to a beautiful beach a little outside of our town, we walked seaside along a path and learned more about each other and our backgrounds. They also took Ansley, Emily, Margaux, Molly and I hiking which was incredible! We got to take in the culture by seeing the agriculture, mountains and factories. I treasure the memories I had the chance to make with them and I am so grateful for their friendships. But that is just the beginning of my time in Vic! The students were also so sweet and caring, even though I didn’t speak their language resulting in not being able to communicate with them well I got to create great relationships. I quickly got attached to all the children and enjoyed getting to love on each and everyone of them. I am beyond impressed with their ability to speak and understand three different languages. The school itself was very put together and organized. The acceptance and love I experienced was overwhelming. Ansley, Emily, Margaux, Molly and I felt famous in our school and in the town. We ended up getting interviewed by the local newspaper and made the front page! After spending time in another countries classroom I have a different perspective and appreciation for education!





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page